Thursday, October 14, 2010

Prairie School names Hilpert, Johnson scholarship winners

The Prairie School recently honored eight students as Willie Hilpert Memorial Scholarship winners, and two others who have been awarded Imogene P. Johnson Leadership Fellows Scholarships.

The Hilpert scholarships range from $500 to $4,500 and are awarded to the student each year they remain at The Prairie School.The Johnson Leadership Fellows receive $7,000 awards, also renewable based on performance.

The Willie Hilpert Memorial Scholarship winners for the 2010/2011 academic year and their last year's schools are:
  • Grade 6:   Scott Isaacson, Stephen Bull Fine Arts; Emma Nix, Gifford Elementary; Sara Wagers, The Prairie School
  • Grade 7: Cody Jones, McKinley Middle School; Shomari Kirkwood, Washington Middle School; Sandeep Reddy, The Prairie School
  • Grade 9:  Maria Feiler, The Prairie School  Grade 11: Omar Dyette, The Prairie School
More than 100 students from Racine, Kenosha and surrounding counties competed for the merit-based awards, established in memory of Mrs. Willie Hilpert, co-founder of The Prairie School.

The two students entering the 9th grade at Prairie School named Johnson Leadership Fellows are Ashley Gelhaus, from the Raymond School, and Max Byers from Wilmot High School.

Eighth-grade students interested in being considered for the 2011 - 2012 Johnson Fellows program can start the process by completing a qualifying exam on Nov. 13.

Students interested in being considered for the 2011/12 Hilpert program must take a qualifying exam on Saturday, Nov. 13, for students  in grades 7-10, and on Saturday, Feb. 5, for students  in grades 5-6.
Contact Prairie's admissions office at (262) 260-4393 for more information on the scholarship programs or the exam.

1 comment:

  1. Yes I'm so glad I'm now a part of The Prairie Community.