Wednesday, November 3, 2010

New board members join Kids First Fund

Cindy Madson, Steve Schiele and Marybeth Zuhlke have been elected to the Kids First Fund (KFF) Board of Directors.

The three new members join Al Volmut, president; Dorothy Constantine, vice president; Lynne Leithleither, financial secretary, and Pauline Mitchell, secretary. Others continuing on the KFF Board are: William Boyd, honorary chair; Dwayne Olsen, grant advisory committee co-chair, Esther Letven and Marc Smathers.

Marketing and Development Committee members include Paul Holley, Art Howell, Fran Hansen and Judy Moungey. Sally Hoelzel is the KFF liaison to the PTA. Stacy Tapp is the KFF Board’s Advisor to the Racine Unified School District.

Kids First Fund, an endowment within the Racine Community Foundation, uses gifts from community members to enhance lives and learning of students and educators in the Racine Unified School District, supporting activities that might not otherwise be funded.

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Prairie School entrance exam is Nov. 13

The Prairie School, 4050 Lighthouse Drive, will hold an entrance exam on Saturday, Nov. 13, at 8:30 a.m. for students in grades 7 through 10.

Students applying for the 2011-12 school year are required to take this exam. Advance registration for the exam is required; registration deadline is Nov. 10. Contact Prairie's admissions office at 262-260-4393 or e-mail